Scared to Silence

Once there was a little girl
Her skin was white as snow
And everywhere her father hit
A bruise was sure to show
And so he used his words instead
They cut her to the bone
All she dreamed of desperately
was being left alone.

Each day she’d tiptoe lightly
Around her only home
For if she tread too heavily
His words would feel like stone
Smashing through her fragile heart
As though it made of glass
She wished she were invisible
For the fear she felt was vast.

Years went by
The scars grew thick
around her tender heart.
She found the day, she finally would
Get her fresh new start.

Now she wonders to herself
Why did he do her wrong?
She always thought a fathers love
Should be beautiful and strong.
Instead she felt a failure
To this man she called her dad.
For if this was, what love really was
Why did it hurt so bad?

13 thoughts on “Scared to Silence

      1. Your first one – impressive! I love how poetry gives us a form to express ourselves, tell our stories, and share our experiences with others. I think the title of this poem is one I relate to a lot since I always tried to be silent and invisible.

        Liked by 1 person

          1. I don’t write much poetry but it’s always there for me when it comes to a strong feeling I want to express. Sorry for your pain too. I’ve definitely learnt that we’re not meant to be silent because what we have to share are gifts for others.

            Liked by 1 person

  1. Your poem still brings tears to my eyes and heart when I read it. I just want to hug and hold that little girl, take her pain away and love her with all of my heart. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

